Bookish Pet Peeves

Hey-o! It’s Madelyn! And I’m not sleep deprived for once!

So bookish pet peeves. I have some. This is going to be a short post from me for once, haha.

I can’t stand it when I see people bookmark their page by folding the corner down. It just hurts my soul. I’m okay with a textbook you own or a school related workbook but something not like fun and leisure. It just burns my soul.

Then there’s the sticker some stores stick on the books. I can peel some off just fine but when it’s a old or cheap sticker, it leaves residue and I get upset. The beautiful cover is tainted with some icky residue.

I also hate it when I have to bend the spine a lot. I think it’s fine if it’s a tad bending. But if the book is like old or is made of this material that just automatically has the spine bend like crazy (gives me a heart attack), I just sigh because the poor spine is now wrecked. I’m not sure if you know what I’m talking about for the type of material the book is made of but I just noticed that with the books with stiffer paperback material have spine that are more prone to like just crack and bend like crazy when I open it up. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me. I try to be careful. Sarah hates this spine bending deal too.

Oh, and movie covers. I’m not a big fan. The original cover is usually more attractive to me. I don’t like it when I go out to buy the book but the movie came out at the same time I decided to go buy the book and all the store has is the movie cover!

I know my sister can’t stand it when people lay a book face-down on the page they’re on. And Sarah hates how the hardcovers are out first and she has to wait a whole year for the paperback to come out, haha (I paraphrased. Add some choice words in here and there if you wish to read in Sarah’s tone, haha.).

I feel like this was a really negative post with all of the “I don’t like” and the “hate it”. That’s sad. Let’s be positive next time, me! I should figure out a way to convey my dislikes in a positive light. I’m pretty sure it’s possible…oh well. Another time then!

What are your bookish pet peeves?

 

Leave a Reply

