History is All You Left Me (Review)

Initial Thoughts: Dear god let me not cry in a Dunkin Donuts while reading an Adam Silvera book. Again. 

*Potential spoiler warning*

History is All You Left Me or HIS STORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME (lol Idk if anyone’s made that joke but at the end I’ll do my own take on symbolism and stuff)***

Sarah’s Sucky Summary: Griffin is dealing with the death of his first love, Theo, which is intensified by him still being in love with Theo, and the arrival of Theo’s current boyfriend – Jackson. As the two boys piece together Theo’s past and present, they learn some hard truths with an understanding of how to move on.

Rating: 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


So I preordered History when the price dropped by like $5 and I don’t regret my decisions. Adam Silvera also has become an auto buy author, because I’ve also preordered his next book, They Both Die At The End (really Adam?! I can feel the ugly lady tears coming already)

Now, I loved History. It wasn’t as heart-wrenching as his first book, More Happy Than Not, though I suspect some people would prefer that.

I took some notes on my phone as I read lol so down below I’ll say whether anything has changed: “It’s a very intense somber, melancholy feeling established and further highlighted through its nonlinear structure. I would describe it as the same way I started to feel around the middle of More Happy, (at this point I’m 29 pages into the book mind you – props on that). You know exactly what happens (sort of) as the story progresses and you go through the book realizing that what happened in the “History” section will never happen again. It’s a very real thing, to write grief in this way. All the potentials turn into never happened or has happened already – never again. I’ve dealt with death (my father) and it’s a very similar feeling. I didn’t go up to the casket. I stayed in the chair in front of it, next to my aunt (on daddy’s side), who was crying and said to me, while wiping her tears with a tissue, “do you want to go up and see your daddy” and I didn’t respond.

I like how Theo treats Griffin’s compulsions, and it reminds me of what Adam said when we talked at the signing, and my friend Christina was talking about her medical quirks. She called it a very long list of things that were wrong with her, and Adam said “No no. There’s nothing wrong with you. They’re just things about you.” And I’ll remember that for the rest of my days. And I’m glad it’s in a book for all who are struggling to know that they aren’t broken people. (If anyone has the pleasure of meeting Adam Silvera, he’s the biggest ray of sunshine ever please bring him love and oreos for Becky, too.)

But then I also love how Wade doesn’t sugarcoat things because the rest of the world isn’t going to be so accommodating. I’m sure Theo loved Griffin just as much, but what he was doing didn’t help Griffin as much.

Me and Griffin are the same. We don’t like confrontation and talking things out in the moment for fear of saying something unforgivable (I turn into the most heartless bitch when I’m angry I’ll say shit just to hurt someone.”

Anyway my thoughts are the same. It’s an amazing own voices book that deals with love, sexuality, death, grief, and mental health. Every bit as quotable, and probably even funnier than More Happy (shameless self promo, but go check out my updates on Goodreads.)

It started out a lot more intense and sad and I literally had to pause and take breaks while reading or I’d start crying. But then it mellows out to a more feel-good, bittersweet ending that left me satisfied. I hate books where the ending’s sole job is to tie up loose ends.

That being said I can’t believe it took Adam two whole books to learn how to be nice to his characters.

Keep an eye out for videos from the day I met Adam and Becky, and my video review of History!

***OKAY SO WHAT IF HIS STORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME CAN BE APPLIED TO EVERYONE IN THEO’S LIFE. LIKE GRIFFIN IS LEFT WITH JACKSON’S STORY OF THEO AND JACKSON IS LEFT WITH GRIFFIN’S. SO IT MAKES SENSE AS THEY LEARN EACH OTHER’S SIDE AND HAND IN THEO’S DEATH. IDK I THOUGHT THIS WAS MORE DEVELOPED THAN IT ACTUALLY IS BUT YOU GET MY DRIFT. BYE NOW.

Leave a Reply

