Crooked Kingdom (Review)

Madelyn here. I just finished Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo last night and it broke my heart. I mean, the ending was happy, I’ll tell you that. But the book broke my heart.

Minor spoilers ahead if you didn’t read Six of Crows yet.

Madelyn’s Sucky Plot Summary: It continues after the events of Six of Crows and Jan Van Eck has cheated them. So Kaz Brekker of course plots to get his revenge against Van Eck and sweep Pekka Rollins in too.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

This was an awesome last book to the Six of Crows duology. The character’s skills never failed to impress me. I still found myself surprised a little and smiling whenever Kaz got the best of someone or precious Inej did her thing. Nina was still recovering from the effects of the parem but she managed. I kept forgetting that Wylan does not look like Wylan. And Jesper had his guilt problems with Inej and Kaz. And then Matthias was just sweet dude with Nina.

The first scenes in Smeet’s house were an amazing start. I like how Kaz basically scarred a little girl.

“Da says monsters eat children who don’t go to bed when they’re told.” (Hanna)

“They do. But I won’t. Not tonight. If you do two things for me…First you must crawl into bed. And second, you must never tell anyone you’ve seen us, especially your da…Because if you do, I’ll slit your mother’s throat and then your father’s, and then I’ll cut out the hearts of all these sweet slobbering hounds. I shall save Duke Silverhaunch for last so that you will know it’s your fault.” (Kaz)

I loved the action in the book too. The Shu soldiers did not have any chill, man. It was so freaky.  Jesper’s action scene was hilarious. I loved him for that.

“Don’t worry, Da. People point guns at each other all the time in Ketterdam. It’s basically a handshake.” (Jesper)

I think just about everything in this book was great. There was some LGBT in here which is great for that diversity because people exist. The comedy was lovely too. I love it when the characters sit around bantering with each other.

But the ending. Oh my god. I’m just going to say that this character deserved better. That broke my heart. I was a little messed up last night. I just laid in that comfy spot on the floor for a good while to get myself together. But otherwise, it was pretty much happy. I just about cried for the kids because they’re kids and they just have a horrible life.

Let’s appreciate some character development though.

“Where do think the money went?” he repeated.
“Guns?” asked Jesper.
“Ships?” queried Inej.
“Bombs?” suggested Wylan.
“Political bribes?” offered Nina. They all looked at Matthias. “This is where you tell us how awful we are,” she whispered.
He shrugged. “They all seem like practical choices.”

Throwback to the last book where Matthias thought they were all terrible people. I mean, they kind of are but for good reason. They never killed or cheated anyone innocent, I don’t think.

Oh well. This was a great book. I enjoyed it and read it really slow because of school. But I finally finished and I have no regrets. One of the best books I read this year so far.

Let’s try to end this review with some lovely quotes I loved from the book.

“I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.” (Kaz to Inej)

“You don’t look like a monster.”
“I’ll tell you a secret, Hanna. The really bad monsters never look like monsters.” (Kaz)

Mati en sheva yelu. This action will have no echo. It means we won’t repeat the same mistakes, that we won’t continue to do harm.” (Inej)

“You can only sharpen a blade so far”, Kaz said as he joined them at the front of the church. “In the end, it comes down to the quality of the metal.”

…These are mostly Inej and Kaz quotes. They are well spoken people. A lot of what they said got to me.

Ok. One more from Kaz. It was a really badass one that reminds me of what those action movie heroes say when they basically walk away from an explosion or right before they deliver the killing blow to the bad guy.

The big man shrieked as his knee popped free of its socket. He toppled sideways, blubbering, “My leg! My leg!”

“I recommend a cane.” Kaz said.

Ok, I’m going to stop there before I just put the whole book up because it was basically perfection. Thanks, Leigh Bardugo for this masterpiece.

Ok. Real ending quote. Bye.

“No mourners. No funerals.”

 

Leave a Reply

