Goodbye Days (Review)

Here’s another review coming at ya! Also another amazing book, and it’s by Jeff Zentner. I haven’t read his other book yet, The Serpent King, but eventually I will. (Also this pic is my favorite post on IG)

Sarah’s Sucky Summary: Carver Briggs has to deal with the aftermath of the deaths of his three best friends – which some feel he might’ve caused when he texted one of them. Tensions flare as he deals with navigating life alone and with people blaming him for what happened. He starts hanging out with the girlfriend of one of them, much to the displeasure of his friend’s twin. But he starts up the concept of Goodbye Days with the parents and other loved ones of his friends. Basically, if you knew it was your last day with a person, how would you spend it?

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I loved this book so much. I had to stop reading a couple of times because I almost cried. I loved being on the edge of that. I couldn’t imagine how it must feel to go through something like that. Literally couldn’t deal with everyone on this boy’s ass omg. 

His therapist was one of my favorite people – and I loved him. He was everything I wished my therapist was. 

It shares every heartbreak ever – including a southern grandma finding out her grandson was gay. She struggles with her faith, but she loves and accepts him. I couldn’t have written it better. 

It’s also funny how in We Are the Ants, Jesse (Henry’s boyfriend) spends a completely normal day with him despite knowing he was going to kill himself that day – and Henry wonders how he didn’t see it coming. While the grandma in Goodbye Days reflects on how why wouldn’t you want to spend your last day any different than how you normally would. 

I started thinking about how I’d spend a Goodbye Day (morbid I know) but all this to say I loved this book a lot. I can’t wait to read more from Zentner, and I wouldn’t hesitate to shove this book in anyone’s face so they cry like I did. 

Leave a Reply

