We Are the Ants (Review)

Hey! I know it’s been a while, allergies and school have swamped me. I read a ton this year – as my followers on Instagram already know. But guess who hasn’t posted a review since HIAYLM 😅😅😅. 

Anyway, here’s a bunch of reviews coming your way to make up for it, the first being We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson. 

Sarah’s Sucky Summary: A teen with almost nothing to live for has to decide whether or not the earth explodes after he gets kidnapped by aliens. 

That’s a horrible summary, but also pretty much what it is. 

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I loved this book. I think I’ve described it as if I were to ask for the perfect book for me, this is it. The humor is dry, sarcastic, cynical, and spoke to me in a way I’ve never seen before. The main character is depressed, bullied, and has a horrible home life, and it’s funny to me (and the main character) how the aliens chose a person who would struggle with the decision on whether or not to save the world. They could’ve picked a smarter person to make a more educated decision, or a dumber one to make a quick one. But they chose him because they wouldn’t know what he would do and that was amazing to me. 

He literally has nothing to live for really, and struggled to see the bad in ending the world. That was me. I am depressed and I saw this very similar to how he did. I can’t even talk about how much this book means to me because it’s honestly amazing. It’s one of those quotable ones and I love those. 

It’s funny because in Goodbye Days, they talk about how why wouldn’t you spend your last day doing anything different than normal while in We Are the Ants, Henry talks about how he didn’t know Jesse (his boyfriend) was suicidal because he was so normal the day before and why didn’t he do anything different if he knew he was gonna die. 

Henry hooks up regularly with his bully, but he also starts falling for the suave artist with a checkered past – which is a beautifully heartbreaking thing to read. 

I do however, must say that there is one scene where Henry is almost raped. I say that with the intention of acting like a trigger warning, but by no means does it mean you shouldn’t read the book. It comes toward the end – and is as horrible and heartbreaking as the vile act is. 

Also, it has alternating chapters that show how the world ends – which is creative, heartbreaking, and all too real. 

All in all, one of the best books of the year – and if anyone were to ask to describe me in one book, this would be it. I’m hooked on Shaun David Hutchinson, and actually bought another of his books the other day – hopefully that review comes out less late. 

Happy reading and keep an eye out for my other reviews coming soon. 

Leave a Reply

