Everything Everything (Review)

Long time no blog! (or post or whatever) but all three of us have been super busy with school and everything. I’ve still got reviews that gotta go up but shhhh….anyway I finally got to reading Everything Everything (super late I know) but in celebration of the movie coming out on May 19th, I think.

Sarah’s Sucky Summary: Madeline has never seen the outside world. Her condition, which is better known as baby bubble syndrome or something, means her compromised immune system hasn’t let her live her life to the fullest. She’s never known anything beyond the white, filtered four walls, and her nurse Carla and mother. But when a new family moves in next door, she becomes smitten with the boy, Olly. He unlocks something inside her, making her more risky and daring than she’s ever felt before. And it just might kill her.

Review: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

*More like 3.5 stars

I really liked this book. I say like and not love, because there was something missing I think. Maybe it was the fact that it was mostly predictable. But I still thought the writing was amazing and beautiful and fluffy so that I loved it all the same. It reminded me of the feeling I got while reading Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Madeline’s voice is so real, as she talks about her limitations and stuff because of her sickness, things healthy people wouldn’t understand. It’s kinda like when I learned the spoon theory or whatever it’s called. Where healthy people can have an unlimited supply of spoons (I hope I’m explaining this right) but people with medical conditions and disabilities have a limited number or broken spoons that don’t work.

I loved the romance. It was good and mutual and pure. There was no qualms about an interracial romance, everything was because of her illness. They fell in love with each other and were not perfect, but that didn’t matter.

(Sidenote: Did the name Olly come from skateboarding tricks?)

There’s a part where she talks about her dead brother and dad, but she was too little to really miss them, and she tries to understand her feelings about this. I related really hard to this, because I lost my dad when I was about 5-6, and while I remember him, I really don’t have specific memories or enough to miss him. So I feel bad (the 11th anniversary is coming up this weekend y’all, my whole family isn’t in a good place this time of year), so I understand where Madeline is coming from.

The cover is my everything (fun fact: I made this unintentional pun on my Instagram post when I started the book yesterday. It’s an easy read and I probably would’ve finished it in a day if I hadn’t started it close to midnight the night before).

I’m shoving it in Madelyn and Gwen’s faces so we can see the movie together, because you know, Amandla and Nick.

Leave a Reply

