A Court of Wings and Ruin (Review)

It’s Madelyn! I’m here and alive thankfully. God. ACOWAR almost killed me last night when I finished reading it. The last few chapters were like a succession of feels and horror and just everything someone could throw at you.

This book strangely took me a little over a month to finish despite all the free time I had. I think it was because I was dreading the end of the story that Feyre has to tell us.

Spoilers ahead.

I was listening to music while reading this and the songs that I thought fit really well were:

  • While She Sleeps – Feel
  • While She Sleeps – Civil Isolation
  • The Word Alive – Made This Way
  • The Word Alive – Dark Matter

Definitely made the fighting more intense and had more feels hitting.

Madelyn’s Sucky Plot Summary: Beloved Feyre is back in the Spring Court after all that happened in Hybern. (Thanks Tamlin and Ianthe) She’s trying to ruin Tamlin and also get info on Hybern about the impending war. Then she reunites with her Night Court family and her sisters. Then the High Lords organize a huge meeting about the war and how to band together to save Prythian but you know they’re not that amicable with each other because man, these guys can hold some intense grudges. (But for real, it was a bad past between them and I get their trust issues with each other.) Then they go to war with Hybern and try to save their world.

Rating: 5/5 Stars dammit

It was a wonderful book. Our darling Feyre was just out to destroy the Spring Court. There was so much that happened with the sisters and the Night Court family. But we made it.

It was a roller coaster of emotions with this book. First I was like “Yes! Feyre! Destroy them!” then it shifted to horror when they had the meeting because everyone was petty and going for everything that Rhys and Feyre had done. Then a little laugh then more despair because war is like war on your freaking emotions.

“But this is war. We don’t have the luxury of good ideas—only picking between the bad ones.”

This book really made me feel it. Here’s basically what my reactions where like while I was reading:

ACOWAR Status updates

Fun fact: Adele – Hello was playing while I was reading that scene around page 666.

I gotta say. Helion was not what I expected, haha. I love his friendship with Rhys though. Total friendship goals. He was ready to mess up some stuff during the war alongside Rhys.

I loved how the sisters got back together and worked their way to work together (Mostly Feyre and Nesta getting along a bit better). It was cute during that scene where they all snuggled up to each other after a day’s hard warring. I didn’t like Nesta at first because she was real cold to Feyre but then she got better when she saw how Feyre just left to take care of people in need without a second thought. I think that just sent her back in memory lane when Feyre was supporting her family when they needed her back in the human world.

The friendship in this really got me. I loved the emotions and everything too between everyone. The Court of Dreams really is squad goals. They all care for each other and would do anything to ensure the safety of their family. I really felt that. And the main romance in here was still as amazing. Rhys treats Feyre as his equal and that is awesome. Gotta love Rhys for that.

“Rhysand, the male who had always presented me with a choice not as a gift, but as my own gods-given right.”

Everyone in this book was complex with their own messed up pasts. That’s what made this book so awesome because everyone had their own story. Everyone was healing still from their past and even Feyre was coming to accept herself and grow more as the High Lady of the Night Court.

And the amount of sass and awesome comebacks in here was amazing, haha. Never cross Nesta because her comebacks are pure gold and may destroy you. Azriel was surprisingly cocky and sassy here and I was glad to see our precious shadowy bat open up more.

“Why should I be scared of an oversized bat who likes to throw temper tantrums?”

“If you want someone to blame for all of this,” she said to Tamlin, “perhaps you should first look in the mirror.”

This was a good end to Feyre’s story. I wish there was more. The plot was really good with all the twists that I didn’t see coming. I didn’t have any issues with this book so it was a solid five stars. I enjoyed it thoroughly…even though this book wrecked me and ripped out my soul and heart, tore it to shreds, and put it back in. That last battle really messed me up.

SJM really set the stage for her next stories in this world. I think there’s something to Lucien’s journey to find Vassa and then the story with Nesta and Cassian. I’m looking forward to what Sarah J Maas brings us next in this world.

“Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”

“I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part that I do not love with everything I am.”

“We’re all a broken, in our own ways – In places no one might see.”

“I would have waited five hundred more years for you. A thousand years. And if this was all the time we were allowed to have… the wait was worth it.”

“One life may change the world.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

