Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Review)

Hi! It’s Madelyn again with a review! I’m still binge reading before I have to be in college in like less than 2 weeks! So here we go!

I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater and it was wonderful.

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Spoilers beware cause this is the third book and I just gotta.

Madelyn’s Sucky Plot Summary: This picks off from after the events of The Dream Thieves where Blue’s mom went missing and went underground. Adam learned from Persephone how to mend the ley line and how to understand Cabeswater when it wants to speak with him. And so school is starting up for the gang but their hunt continues for Glendower. Blue is missing her mother. Persephone keeps warning not to wake the third sleeper. The kids now hunt for Glendower underground in caves while also dealing with an antagonist from the last book who had hired Mr. Gray.

I enjoyed this book as usual. I love the characters and how they all interact with each other. I love their quest to find a Welsh king and how they’ll pretty much risk their lives for it. It’s a good summer book to read because they’ll take you on their journey with you like you’re in the backseat of their roadtrip. Even though this book takes place in the fall, it’s a cool summery read. Maybe early fall since they went back to school too so you can be the same as them, lol.

I think the villain wasn’t as like terrifying or villainous but definitely an antagonist there to mess things up for everyone. Piper was definitely annoying. I felt like she was so entitled and spoiled just cause she’s pretty but I guess that’s the point; we’re supposed to hate the villain most of the time. Unless you’re reading the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard then you’re just in a love-hate relationship with that boy!

Anyways, I have a question. Is it a boy thing or a rich person thing to refer to each other by their last names? Gansey and them did it a lot when they came back to school and interacted with other classmates. It’d be like “Yo! Cheng!” or “Hey Lynch!”. I mean technically, Gansey’s usual choice of name is already his last name…

Onwards!

I loved Jesse Dittley! He was adorable and I loved his and Blue’s interactions. I thought he was the sweetest. I didn’t like his fate though. Made me tear up a little. Same with Persephone. I liked how she was always in her own world and cryptic.

“It kills Dittleys and does terrible things to my friend.”

“YOUR DEAD FRIEND.”

“That’s not his fault. Why didn’t you say you could see him?”

“I DIDN’T SAY I COULD SEE YOU, EITHER.”

“But I’m not dead.”

“BUT YOU ARE PRETTY SHORT.”

I needed more Gansey and Blue! They’re just too adorable together! They broke my heart. Just throw caution to the wind and be together! Just don’t kiss! That darn curse! I loved their late night conversations. It was so cute.

“Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.

She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.”

Speaking of breaking my heart, Adam broke my heart. I didn’t like him much in the book before but he was better in this one and I liked him more. That court appearance for the charges pressed against his dad just hurt me. How his dad showed up and basically called him stupid and was so sure he [the dad] himself was the victim. And that nothing was wrong with beating your child. But I was a smiling when Gansey and Ronan came in because they’re friends. That was beautiful. I think he thinks he’s alone or something or that his existence isn’t important but it is! And he’s not alone. He’s got the boys and Blue!

“He left bloody fingerprints on the rock, but there was something satisfying about that.
I was here. I exist. I’m alive, because I bleed.”

I loved Henry Cheng. How he was just there protesting and wanting more power to the people for the student council! He was adorable. I want more of him.

I think my only small issue with this book was the writing style. I noticed a lot more breaks in the sentences but the breaks would be super long and oftentimes be that paragraph. It was to the point where I forgot what the statement was before that when the break ends, I have to go back to read the part before the break and connect it to the end. My attention span could not deal with that jumping around-ness.

But it was still a great book! I did enjoy reading and I’ll be trying to pick up the next book!

Have you been on some fun trip or adventure this summer?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

