Clockwork Angel (Review)

Madelyn with another review! I bought Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare last summer and only got to reading it now because other books came out that just knocked it down the TBR list like Empire of Storms by SJM and school got in the way of my reading. But I finally got to it and it was great!

Madelyn’s Sucky Plot Summary: Tessa Gray comes to London after being invited by her brother, Nate, to live with him. But at the dock in London, she’s tricked and captured by the Dark Sisters who work for the Magister, who are a part of some society called Pandemonium. They torture her to master her hidden powers of being able to Change into someone else. Then she’s saved by Will Herondale and brought into the Shadowhunter world and all that it entails. Turns out that the Magister, the man who is after Tessa, is causing a commotion by creating automatons to take over all of London. This affects Tessa since presumably, Nate is in the Magister’s hands and the Magister is killing a bunch of humans, or mundanes.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

I adored this book. It has been a while since I read something written by Cassandra Clare. But it was a nice and refreshing to experience her writing again. She does a great job with the world building and everything is so specific that your imagination really vividly pictures that exact setting she had in mind. I also felt like I was there with the characters because all it did this week was rain and all it did during the book’s events was rain or it was cloudy.

It took a few chapters to get used to that mindset of the Victorian period. I’m used to women wanting to fight and get into the action but Tessa and Jessamine were pretty much concerned with being the proper lady and not fighting. Tessa was surprised at first to see pictures of women Shadowhunters in battle gear and to hear/see Charlotte fighting alongside the men. But then near the end, Tessa took charge in her way.

I liked the plot. It was a little bit of a mystery to figure out who the Magister was and then what Tessa actually is. I enjoyed the other bits to the main plot which was the power struggle of Charlotte since she is a woman who is the head of the Institute. I was rooting for Charlotte. As usual, the Clave is an angry and fussy bunch.

The characters were great. Henry was adorable. He was such a puppy with his inventions and showing them off once he’s finished with them. They’re all colorful with different personalities and opinions.

Will and Jem were amazing. Cassandra Clare made it hard to pick between them. They’re both great men. I don’t know who suits Tessa better! They both work with her so well. It’s cute when Will and her reference poetry and literature. Then there’s Jem. He’s always there to comfort her and joke around with her. I love the friendship between them all though.

“Must you go? I was rather hoping you’d stay and be a ministering angel, but if you must go, you must.”

“I’ll stay,” Will said a bit crossly, and threw himself down in the armchair Tessa had just vacated. “I can minister angelically.”

“None too convincingly. And you’re not as pretty to look at as Tessa is,” Jem said, closing his eyes as he leaned back against the pillow.

“How rude. Many who have gazed upon me have compared the experience to gazing at the radiance of the sun.”

Jem still had his eyes closed. “If they mean it gives you a headache, they aren’t wrong.”

I loved Tessa. I like her as the protagonist better than Clary for their respective stories. Tessa was curious and often wanted to do the right thing and she was determined. She’s such a bookworm too! I enjoyed Tessa sassing Will and her conversations with Jem and just her going through her journey to figure out what the heck she actually is.

“Goodness,” Tessa said to the back of his [Will] head. “If you keep seeing Six-Fingered Nigel like this, he’ll expect you to declare your intentions.”

“So you don’t ever get angry at him [Will]?”
Jem laughed out loud. “I would hardly say that. Sometimes I want to strangle him.”
“How on earth do you prevent yourself?”
“I go to my favorite place in London,” said Jem, “and I stand and look at the water, and I think about the continuity of life, and how the river rolls on, oblivious of the petty upsets in our lives.”
Tessa was fascinated. “Does that work?”
“Not really, but after that I think about how I could kill him while he slept if I really wanted to, and then I feel better.”

Now, I just gotta say, I hate Jessamine. She was such a terrible person. She ditched Thomas to run for her own life when she was a Shadowhunter. I know she wasn’t about that life but wow. She has the ability to fight and she could’ve helped. She also often said really mean things and I’m glad Tessa didn’t feel victimized most of the time cause that girl is rude. And how she treated Sophie wasn’t right. But not everyone is nice, I guess.

I don’t know what more to say. This was a great book. I enjoyed reading it and going back into Cassandra Clare’s writing. I will be continuing on because Will is a mess and needs to get himself together. And there is so much to sort out. I think I like this series better than The Mortal Instruments. I have yet to read The Dark Artifices. I’m waiting for paperback since those tend to be cheaper and the hardcover for that series is crazy expensive for me, haha. Those books look pretty big so paperback would also be easier on my hands to read.

So I recommend this book and I think this series looks to be pretty great! Read it!

 

The Mortal Instruments spoilers below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I definitely saw the family resemblance between Will and Jace, haha. They both just want to be out there to save the day and everyone. They are very sassy and can be kind of rude to protect others. And they do a bunch of reckless things. Like Will biting a vampire. Talk about turning the tables in an epic way.

I was also excited to see some immortals in this series like Magnus Bane and Camille. And then near the end of the book, I started to vaguely remember Tessa being in like City of Glass if I’m not mistaken? I could be wrong. I remember them meeting someone like her. But I could be wrong since it’s been a while since I’ve read the books.

And when Magnus said, “Black hair and blue eyes are my favorite combination.”, I was dying. I was like “Wait a few centuries to get you a raging homosexual Lightwood.”

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel (Review)

Leave a Reply

